Chaos Rising EMP thriller Kyla Stone

On Christmas Eve, the lights go out.

Reclusive former soldier Liam Coleman doesn’t want to be anywhere near bustling downtown Chicago the day before Christmas, but his twin brother and pregnant sister-in-law need him.

Mere minutes after leaving O’Hare, their car crashes, along with hundreds of other vehicles. When Liam’s phone stops working, he knows something is very wrong.

But before he can react, the first plane falls from the sky…

Chaos Rising is the 85-page prequel to the Edge of Collapse apocalyptic series, a riveting EMP thriller featuring flawed, complex characters and heart-in-your-throat action. Perfect for fans of Ryan Schow, Jack Hunt, Boyd Craven, and Grace Hamilton.

Buy from Amazon

My Review

The description attracted me to Chaos Rising and I was not disappointed. I was invested in the characters from page one and hooked by the end of the first chapter.

The main character is Liam, an ex-soldier. He’s a bit of a loner and would much rather be at home, but a visit to his brother and wife, who live in the city, is long overdue. Not only is he uncomfortable about being surrounded by the hustle and bustle of city life, but he also has some personal issues to manage. Throw in an EMP and it’s a recipe for disaster…

Chaos Rising is well-written and has some excellent characterisation. I really felt for Liam and his brother and sister-in-law as they navigated the devastation caused by the EMP. It is a prequel though, so it isn’t a particularly long read. I read it in one sitting.

Fact Check

For anyone who isn’t sure what an EMP is, it stands for ElectricMagnetic Pulse, and the burst of high voltage current they emit has the ability to disable and/or destroy anything electrical. I’ve seen EMPs in fiction before, in both offensive and defensive positions, but never on the scale portrayed in Chaos Rising. That doesn’t mean it couldn’t happen, of course.

I found an interesting article on this very subject:

https://slate.com/technology/2015/07/emp-threats-could-an-electro-magnetic-pulse-weapon-wipe-out-the-power-grid.html

And another on how EMPs work:

https://www.businessinsider.com/nukes-electromagnetic-pulse-electronics-2017-5?r=US&IR=T

And on that cheerful note, I’m off to buy Edge of Collapse (book one in the seven-book Edge of Collapse series, which is also available on Kindle Unlimited):

Edge of Collapse series:

Edge of collapse emp
Edge of Madness Edge of Collapse EMP
Edge of Darkness Edge of Collapse EMP
Edge of Arachy Edge of Collapse EMP
Edge of Definace Edge of Collapse EMP
Edge of Survival Edge of Collapse EMP
Edge of Valor Edge of Collapse

Recommend a book

Do you have a book you think I’d like? If so, feel free to recommend it. I do not accept free copies. If I like your cover/description and the sample grabs my attention there is every chance I will buy and review it. 

My interests include:

  • Climate Science Fiction (clifi)
  • Dystopian
  • Near-Extinction (of Earth) stories
  • Dragon (friendly/intelligent) stories

I’m not particularly keen on romance or zombies.

To recommend your book, visit this page

About Michelle

%d bloggers like this: